Books to Read If You’re Watching Dickinson

Perfect reads for those who love a vintage story with a witty, modern twist.

Books Like Dickinson

Hailee Steinfeld in Dickinson (2019)

The Apple TV+ show Dickinson is the unexpected delight of Apple’s new streaming service. It is set in pre-Civil War Massachusetts and stars Hailee Steinfeld as a young Emily Dickinson chafing against the expectations of being a woman in the 1800s. It has a modern sense of humor (including the us-age of current slang and dialogue) and it’s witty, sharp, and entirely surprising.

If you have watched the first episode (or entire season) of this hidden gem and want to read some books in this vein, check out this list of books we’ve put together based on the themes of this entertaining show.

Go to Read It Forward to see the whole list.

59 QUOTES ABOUT LIBRARIES AND LIBRARIANS

kyle-glenn-gcw_WWu_uBQ-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

The intersection between book lovers and library lovers is a big one. Whether we see libraries as magical places or as just one of the simpler pleasures in life, there is no shortage of nice things to be said about the spaces and those who safeguard those hallowed spaces. Whether you’re looking for the perfect line to tattoo on your body or wish to bask in the lovely warm feelings that are these institutions, this collection of 59 quotes about libraries and librarians will lift and inspire you.

Read the list of quotes at BookRiot.

 

100 Books That Defined the Decade

For good, for bad, for ugly.

This is not a list of the best books of the decade. (This is, if you’re interested.) This is a list of books that, whether bad or good, were in one way or another defining for the last decade in American culture. (A global list would be nearly impossible, for obvious reasons. Accordingly, I’ve hewed to English-language and/or US publication dates, when relevant.) This is a list for general readers and followers of literary culture; it includes both major bestsellers and literary standouts, books that have become pop culture phenomenons, and books whose influence has been quieter and/or localized in literary circles. Obviously, it would not suffice for specialist purposes—I imagine a scientist would have selected a very different list of 100 books. (Or 100 books give or take: on a case by case basis, I have counted series as single books, or let the first book in a series stand in for the whole.)

See the whole list at Literary Hub.

IT’S YOURS NOW: 2020 PUBLIC DOMAIN BOOKS

The end of every year brings with it a few things: holidays, changes in weather, gift giving (or not), and news of what’s hitting the public domain in the coming year. This year marks the second year we’ll get a slew of new titles published first in English in 1924. Let’s take a peek a the 2020 public domain books and get excited about the possibilities that exist for these titles.

Learn more about public domain and see the list of newly available titles at BookRiot.

Thursday Ditto Read-alike: Hillbilly Elegy

Did you love this look at family and poverty in the rust belt?

You might want to look at these suggestions.Hillbilly Elegy Shelf End Ditto NU

Best Sellers Update: January 2020

It’s 2020 and the crawdads are still singing! The real surprise are the Polish dark-fantasy novels that have suddenly showed up. Thanks, NETFLIX.

NYT Best Sellers: Combined Print & E-Book Fiction

  1. WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING by Delia Owens

36809135For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

  1. THE GUARDIANS by John Grisham
  2. THE INSTITUTE by Stephen King
  3. THE LAST WISH by Andrzej Sapkowski (NEW)
  4. THE NIGHT FIRE by Michael Connelly
  5. CRISS CROSS by James Patterson
  6. BLUE MOON by Lee Child
  7. A MINUTE TO MIDNIGHT by David Baldacci
  8. THE TESTAMENTS by Margaret Atwood
  9. THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
  10. THE DUTCH HOUSE by Ann Patchett
  11. BLOOD OF ELVES by Andrzej Sapkowski (NEW)
  12. THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ by Heather Morris
  13. THE WATER DANCER by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  14. THE GIVER OF STARS by Jojo Moyes