Love Songs at the Library

Love Songs Concert

Paul Cioe and Friends perform “Love Songs: the Sweet, the Sad and the Silly.”     Paul Cioe has been singing acoustic music for forty years. He taught in the English Departments at Black Hawk College and Western Illinois University for 30 years.  Musicians Heather Nobiling and John Kinser accompany Cioe.

Concert sponsored by the Friends of the Moline Public Library Foundation. Information desk, 309-524-2470.

Sons and Daughters of Thunder film screening with Kelly and Tammy Rundle

sons and daughters of thunder program

Fourth Wall Films presents a screening of Sons and Daughters of Thunder, with a brief discussion with filmmakers, Tammy and Kelly Rundle.

For more information about the historical events that inspired this film, visit http://www.lanerebelsmovie.com/

Books to Film: February 2020

Waiting for Anya by Michael Morpurgo

WaitingForAnya.jpgWaiting for Anya (2020) movie photoMovie: Waiting for Anya
When it comes out: February 7
What the book is about: Jo places his life in danger when he helps protect a growing number of Jewish children who have sought refuge at a reclusive widow’s farm.

 

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis

15798116Timmy Failure Mistakes Were Made Poster.jpegMovie: Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made
When it comes out: February 7
What the book is about: Take eleven-year-old Timmy Failure — the clueless, comically self-confident CEO of the best detective agency in town, perhaps even the nation. Add his impressively lazy business partner, a very large polar bear named Total. Throw in the Failuremobile — Timmy’s mom’s Segway — and what you have is Total Failure, Inc., a global enterprise destined to make Timmy so rich his mother won’t have to stress out about the bills anymore. Of course, Timmy’s plan does not include the four-foot-tall female whose name shall not be uttered. And it doesn’t include Rollo Tookus, who is so obsessed with getting into “Stanfurd” that he can’t carry out a no-brainer spy mission.

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

20698530New 'To All The Boys: PS I Still Love You' Poster Features Lara Jean, Peter & John AmbroseMovie: To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You 
When it comes out: February 14
What the book is about: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

The Call of the Wild by Jack London

1852The Call of the Wild poster.jpgMovie: The Call of the Wild
When it comes out:
February 21
What the book is about:
First published in 1903, The Call of the Wild is regarded as Jack London’s masterpiece. Based on London’s experiences as a gold prospector in the Canadian wilderness and his ideas about nature and the struggle for existence, The Call of the Wild is a tale about unbreakable spirit and the fight for survival in the frozen Alaskan Klondike.

Emma by Jane Austen

6969Emma poster.jpegMovie: Emma
When it comes out:
February 21
What the book is about:
Emma Woodhouse is one of Austen’s most captivating and vivid characters. Beautiful, spoilt, vain and irrepressibly witty, Emma organizes the lives of the inhabitants of her sleepy little village and plays matchmaker with devastating effect.

The Last Thing He Wanted by Joan Didion

The Last Thing He Wanted.jpgMovie: The Last Thing He Wanted
When it comes out: February 21
What the book is about: In that latter year Elena McMahon walks off the presidential campaign she has been covering for a major newspaper to do a favor for her father. Elena’s father does deals. And it is while acting as his agent in one such deal—a deal that shortly goes spectacularly wrong—that she finds herself on an island where tourism has been superseded by arms dealing, covert action, and assassination.

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392All the Bright Places.jpegMovie: All the Bright Places
When it comes out:
February 28
What the book is about:
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

Books to Read If You’re Watching Dickinson

Perfect reads for those who love a vintage story with a witty, modern twist.

Books Like Dickinson

Hailee Steinfeld in Dickinson (2019)

The Apple TV+ show Dickinson is the unexpected delight of Apple’s new streaming service. It is set in pre-Civil War Massachusetts and stars Hailee Steinfeld as a young Emily Dickinson chafing against the expectations of being a woman in the 1800s. It has a modern sense of humor (including the us-age of current slang and dialogue) and it’s witty, sharp, and entirely surprising.

If you have watched the first episode (or entire season) of this hidden gem and want to read some books in this vein, check out this list of books we’ve put together based on the themes of this entertaining show.

Go to Read It Forward to see the whole list.

59 QUOTES ABOUT LIBRARIES AND LIBRARIANS

kyle-glenn-gcw_WWu_uBQ-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

The intersection between book lovers and library lovers is a big one. Whether we see libraries as magical places or as just one of the simpler pleasures in life, there is no shortage of nice things to be said about the spaces and those who safeguard those hallowed spaces. Whether you’re looking for the perfect line to tattoo on your body or wish to bask in the lovely warm feelings that are these institutions, this collection of 59 quotes about libraries and librarians will lift and inspire you.

Read the list of quotes at BookRiot.

 

100 Books That Defined the Decade

For good, for bad, for ugly.

This is not a list of the best books of the decade. (This is, if you’re interested.) This is a list of books that, whether bad or good, were in one way or another defining for the last decade in American culture. (A global list would be nearly impossible, for obvious reasons. Accordingly, I’ve hewed to English-language and/or US publication dates, when relevant.) This is a list for general readers and followers of literary culture; it includes both major bestsellers and literary standouts, books that have become pop culture phenomenons, and books whose influence has been quieter and/or localized in literary circles. Obviously, it would not suffice for specialist purposes—I imagine a scientist would have selected a very different list of 100 books. (Or 100 books give or take: on a case by case basis, I have counted series as single books, or let the first book in a series stand in for the whole.)

See the whole list at Literary Hub.

IT’S YOURS NOW: 2020 PUBLIC DOMAIN BOOKS

The end of every year brings with it a few things: holidays, changes in weather, gift giving (or not), and news of what’s hitting the public domain in the coming year. This year marks the second year we’ll get a slew of new titles published first in English in 1924. Let’s take a peek a the 2020 public domain books and get excited about the possibilities that exist for these titles.

Learn more about public domain and see the list of newly available titles at BookRiot.

Thursday Ditto Read-alike: Hillbilly Elegy

Did you love this look at family and poverty in the rust belt?

You might want to look at these suggestions.Hillbilly Elegy Shelf End Ditto NU

Best Sellers Update: January 2020

It’s 2020 and the crawdads are still singing! The real surprise are the Polish dark-fantasy novels that have suddenly showed up. Thanks, NETFLIX.

NYT Best Sellers: Combined Print & E-Book Fiction

  1. WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING by Delia Owens

36809135For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

  1. THE GUARDIANS by John Grisham
  2. THE INSTITUTE by Stephen King
  3. THE LAST WISH by Andrzej Sapkowski (NEW)
  4. THE NIGHT FIRE by Michael Connelly
  5. CRISS CROSS by James Patterson
  6. BLUE MOON by Lee Child
  7. A MINUTE TO MIDNIGHT by David Baldacci
  8. THE TESTAMENTS by Margaret Atwood
  9. THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
  10. THE DUTCH HOUSE by Ann Patchett
  11. BLOOD OF ELVES by Andrzej Sapkowski (NEW)
  12. THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ by Heather Morris
  13. THE WATER DANCER by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  14. THE GIVER OF STARS by Jojo Moyes